top of page
  • Writer's pictureFARE Tag Team

Lebanese Meat Pies

This recipe was given by Lauren!


Free from all major allergens except wheat/ gluten.


"Growing up, my Lebanese family has made these meat pies (Sfiha) more times than I can count. I have so many memories cooking with my family and I hope you can make some too! I always like to dip my meat pies in hummus or olive oil. Enjoy!"



Ingredients:

  • 2 ½ cups flour

  • 1.5 tsp salt

  • 1 tablespoon sugar

  • 1 cup warm water

  • 1 pack yeast

  • 1/4 cup canola oil

  • 1 pack ground chicken/ turkey

  • Sweet onion

  • Chicken broth

  • Optional: garlic, paprika, salt, parsley

Directions:

To make the bread dough:

  • Mix 2.5 cups flour, 1.5 tsp salt, and 1 tablespoon sugar.

  • In a separate bowl, add 1 cup warm water and mix in 1 pack of yeast. Add 1/4 cup canola oil.

  • Combine all and add flour or extra water as needed (if it’s too sticky).

  • Let dough rise according to yeast directions.


To make the meat:

  • Use ground chicken or ground turkey, sweet onion, and chicken broth.

  • Cook the onion and meat until done in a pan. You can add some garlic, paprika, salt, and parsley. Add just enough chicken broth so that the meat does not dry out.



To make the meat pie:

  • Roll the dough flat and cut it into large squares (you can use the bottom of tupperware or a cup).

  • Fill each square with the meat. Spray each with a small amount of olive oil.

  • Pull the sides together and pinch until it makes a semi-circle.

  • Lay the meat pies on a parchment paper-lined sheet.

  • Bake at 350° for about 15 minutes or until the dough is completely cooked.








Lauren's Bio:

Hi! My name is Lauren and I am 16 years old. I started this FARE Teen Advisory Board project 2 years ago, and am so happy with the success it has had! I am allergic to dairy, egg, and kiwi. I have lived with food allergies my whole life, and I have experienced first-hand the struggles of not feeling normal or feeling excluded because of food allergies. My hope is that our project helps just a little bit to give the food allergic community a sense of belonging.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page