top of page
  • Writer's pictureFARE Tag Team

Tofu and Veggie Rice

This recipe is by Andrea Schmidt. She created it, and says that it is very adaptable according to your personal tastes and allergies. Also, she is mostly vegan so she uses tofu, but chicken would also work well.

Free of: all top allergens except soy.


Ingredients:

3 cups cooked rice ½ package firm or very firm tofu, or one chicken breast Vegetables (Many options - I use whatever I have in the refrigerator!) ¾ cup carrots, chopped 1 cup broccoli, cut into florets 1 cup mushrooms, sliced 1 bell pepper, chopped ½ onion, diced 2 or 3 cloves garlic, sliced or minced 2 tsp ginger, minced 1 ½ tbsp soy sauce Salt and pepper Paprika and/or cayenne to taste, optional Olive oil or alternative


Directions:

Cook rice according to instructions. Cook tofu or chicken in a large pan over medium heat with olive oil, salt, and pepper. When it is almost cooked, add broccoli. Add more oil if needed, the rest of the vegetables, salt, and pepper. When they are almost cooked, add garlic, ginger, paprika, and cayenne if using. Add rice and soy sauce and stir until rice is heated.

Andrea's Story: Hi! My name is Andrea and I am 20 years old. I am a junior studying public health at Johns Hopkins and recently studied abroad at King's College London. I am originally from New Hampshire. My allergies include dairy, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, shellfish, kiwi, cumin, and seeds (sesame, chia, and poppy). I really enjoy cooking and baking, including making my own recipes and experimenting with different ingredients. My other hobbies include painting, reading, and spending time with my dog. My brother Adam is 18 years old and is allergic to dairy and eggs.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page